Tags

, , , , , ,

We all have them. Bffs that we used to share so much time with, but when we became moms we didn’t even get a phone call from.

This has bothered me for a very long while, now. After all, my daughter is about to be 2 years old. I have tried making plans, only to get cancelled on at the last minute, been the first to call or text. I am always trying to check on those “friends” but do they check on me? Nope.

Those who don’t have kids… They just seem to fade into the background. Not for lack of trying on my part. We somehow went from being great friends to just Facebook friends.

I have luckily made lots of new mommy friends along with my bffs who were already parents. Even if we don’t see each other for a while, we know it is just because life happens and no other hidden reason.

Lately I’ve been thinking about why I let the old friends bother me so much. They’ve gone on with their lives and so have I. I just didn’t think our lives would be without each other. It’s hard to lose friends. Even though there was no big blow out fight, or real reason for it, I have finally realized that we aren’t friends anymore. They’ll give a photo on Facebook a “like” to make it look like they still care. And maybe they’ve wondered why I have stopped trying to make plans or call or text.

I’ve recently decided it’s just not worth it. To try and force conversation from someone, make plans only to be cancelled on…

None of it is worth my time anymore.

So to my “friends” that aren’t really my friends anymore, I still love you. But friendship is not one-sided. And I have finally come to grips with that.

image

